Caitlin Clark wins another award from Iowa playing days

The former Iowa standout was named the 2024 Honda Cup Award winner for the second consecutive year, given to the collegiate woman athlete of the year.

It’s another accolade for Clark for her outstanding performance in her senior season with the Hawkeyes, as she already won the Honda Sport Award. She earned her second consecutive Naismith National Player of the Year, the Wade Trophy for the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association’s Division I Player of the Year.

Clark led the nation in 10 different offensive categories, including scoring (31.6 ppg), and she carried the Hawkeyes to their second straight Final Four after beating defending national champion LSU. Iowa fell in the national championship game for the second consecutive season as South Carolina capped a perfect season.

In her senior season, Clark broke the women’s scoring record and all-time NCAA scoring record, capped by her passing Pete Maravich’s 54-year-old record of 3,667 career points in her final regular season home game for the Hawkeyes.

Clark has played 18 games in the WNBA, averaging 16.3 points, 5.4 assists and 6.6 rebounds per game.

This post appeared first on USA TODAY